The best whey for your needs
My overall pick is Nutripure Whey Isolate Native unflavoured: €1.72 per 25 g of protein, a sweetener-free formula and an identified French milk source. To spend as little as possible, Bulk Pure Whey Protein vanilla comes down to €1.34. To avoid sweeteners at a lower cost, Decathlon Whey unflavoured works out at €1.44.
Here are the winners by need, based on usable data from 12 October 2026:
- Best overall: Nutripure unflavoured, for its balance of concentration, simplicity, origin and cost
- Best value without sweeteners: Decathlon Whey unflavoured, if you tolerate a concentrate
- Best unflavoured option with very low stated lactose: Nutripure, with 0.2 g/100 g in the nutrition table
- Best low-budget option per serving: Bulk Pure Whey Protein vanilla, at the recorded automatically discounted price, with sucralose
- Best isolate for documented very low lactose: Nutri&Co, stated at less than 0.02%, chocolate at €2.00 per 25 g of protein
Nutripure wins two categories. I prefer that to inventing a different podium for every line. If you want a cheaper unflavoured isolate, Decathlon Pure Whey unflavoured costs €1.60, but its product page gives no lactose threshold.
These are buying picks, not a muscle-gain contest. Whey is there to supplement your dietary intake. If your meals already cover your needs, start by keeping your money. The daily protein calculation based on your weight and goal lets you check the gap before buying.
Whey comparison: 28 products and their price per 25 g of protein
The green column compares 25 g of protein, never 25 g of powder. The original products remain in the table, including those out of stock. Missing fields and contradictions are not replaced with old values.
Relevé du 12 octobre 2026. Fais défiler le tableau horizontalement pour lire les ingrédients et les sources. Les prix sont hors livraison. Les coûts marqués « indicatif » demandent confirmation du parfum.
| Whey / parfum | Prix / 25 g de protéines | Protéines / 100 g | Prix du format | Type | Origine du lait | Édulcorants / additifs | Lactose annoncé | Analyses publiées | Disponibilité / limites | Source / relevé |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BulkPure Whey ProteinVanille | 1,34 € | 71 gÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | 37,99 €1 000 g | concentrée | Europe (annonce générique de la fiche) | Sucralose, lécithine de tournesol, gomme xanthane, arômes | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stockTableau et ingrédients de la version par défaut vanille, prix SKU VANI-1000. Avant 41,99 €. | Fiche officielle Bulk2026-10-12 |
| DecathlonWhey protéineNeutre | 1,44 € | 75 gÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | 38,99 €900 g | concentrée | Non communiqué | Lécithine de tournesol | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stockPrix actuel de la fiche produit. Les 28,99 € du portail abonnement ne sont pas repris. | Fiche officielle Decathlon2026-10-12 |
| Nutrition ProWhey 100% IsolatCacao | 1,46 €Indicatif : parfum à confirmer | 76,2 gÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | 39,99 €900 g | isolate | Non communiqué | Sucralose, arôme naturel, cacao | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | bientôt disponibleTableau générique sur page cacao : rattachement au parfum non explicitement confirmé. Fabriqué en France n’identifie pas l’origine du lait. Coût indicatif, exclu du podium. | Fiche officielle Nutrition Pro2026-10-12 |
| MyproteinImpact Whey ProteinVanille | 1,50 € | 72 gÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | 38,99 €900 g | concentrée | Non communiqué | Sucralose, lécithines soja/tournesol, arôme | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stockPrix promotionnel automatique sans code, avant 59,99 €. | Fiche officielle Myprotein2026-10-12 |
| NovomaIsolat de Whey NativeNature | 1,52 € | 84 gÉtiquette : 84 g matière humide / 100 g | 45,90 €900 g | native / isolate | Europe (étiquette), France (texte), contradictoire | Lécithines tournesol/colza, complexe d’enzymes digestives | Non communiqué | Oui, document publiéProduit fini nature, contaminants, rapport 2024 avec données de lot masquéesAminogramme affiché | ruptureL’étiquette 900 g ne correspond pas au format 1 kg cité dans le rapport. Certification Sport Protect annoncée, ne pas généraliser à chaque lot. | Fiche officielle Novoma2026-10-12 |
| DynveoWhey Native IsolateNature | 1,58 € | 95 gÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | 59,90 €1 000 g | native / isolate | Europe | Aucun ajout | 1,8 g/100 g | Non trouvéessur les sources consultéesAminogramme affiché | rupture95 g pour 100 g de poudre selon le tableau. Contradiction avec encart 25 g/30 g, non recommandée sans clarification. Ancien prix indexé 45,90 € non repris. | Fiche officielle Dynveo2026-10-12 |
| EiyolabIsolate HTVanille | 1,58 € | 84 g25,2 g matière humide / 30 g × 100 | 39,90 €750 g | isolate | Non communiqué | Sucralose, lécithine de tournesol, arômes, sel, DigeZyme | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultéesAminogramme affiché | en stock26,1 g sur matière sèche écartés. Lactase dans le complexe, sans seuil de lactose communiqué. | Fiche officielle Eiyolab2026-10-12 |
| DecathlonPure Whey 100% IsolateNeutre | 1,60 € | 85 gÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | 48,99 €900 g | isolate | Non communiqué | Lécithines de soja et de tournesol | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stock | Fiche officielle Decathlon2026-10-12 |
| DecathlonPure Whey 100% Isolate chocolatChocolat | 1,66 € | 82 gÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | 48,99 €900 g | isolate | Non communiqué | Stévia, lécithines soja/tournesol, arômes, carbonate de potassium | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stock | Fiche officielle Decathlon2026-10-12 |
| Eric FavreIso Zero 100% WheyNature (avec édulcorants) | 1,67 € | 84,5 g25,35 g / 30 g × 100 | 84,90 €1 500 g | isolate / concentrée | Non communiqué | Sucralose, acésulfame K, lécithine de tournesol | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stockListe officielle : 68 % isolat, 31,82 % concentré. Le nom Iso Zero ne signifie ni 100 % isolat ni absence de lactose. | Fiche officielle Eric Favre2026-10-12 |
| Nutri&CoWhey Concentrée NativeVanille | 1,69 € | 73,7 gN × 6,25, vanille | 44,90 €900 g | native / concentrée | France | Stévia, lécithine, arômes, minéraux du lait, gomme xanthane, lactase | Non communiqué, présence de lactase | Non trouvéessur les sources consultéesAminogramme affiché | rupture900 g déduit de 30 portions de 30 g indiquées. Formule aromatisée, lactose non quantifié. | Fiche officielle Nutri&Co2026-10-12 |
| NutripureWhey Isolate NativeNature | 1,72 € | 86,8 gN × 6,25, matière humide | 44,90 €750 g | native / isolate | France | Lécithine de tournesol | 0,2 g/100 g dans le tableau, < 0,2 % en accroche | Non trouvéessur les sources consultéesAminogramme affiché | en stock94 % sur matière sèche ne sert pas au calcul. 750 g commandable, mention de prévente spécifique au 4 kg. | Fiche officielle Nutripure2026-10-12 |
| ProtéalpesWhey sans sucres ajoutés vanilleVanille | 1,80 € | 74 gN × 6,25, matière humide | 39,95 €750 g | isolate | France, Rhône-Alpes | Arôme naturel, farine de coco, vanille Bourbon, aucun édulcorant | < 5 % | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stockNF EN 17444 annoncée. Certification et aminogramme ne sont pas un rapport de lot publié. | Fiche officielle Protéalpes2026-10-12 |
| ProtéalpesWhey sans sucres ajoutés cacaoCacao | 1,84 € | 72,3 gN × 6,25, matière humide | 39,95 €750 g | isolate | France, Rhône-Alpes | Cacao, farine de coco, aucun édulcorant | < 5 % | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stock85,5 % désigne la proportion d’isolat dans les ingrédients, pas les protéines du produit fini. | Fiche officielle Protéalpes2026-10-12 |
| MyproteinImpact Whey IsolateVanille | 1,86 € | 82 gÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | 54,99 €900 g | isolate | Non communiqué | Sucralose, lécithines soja/tournesol, arôme | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stockPrix promotionnel automatique sans code, avant 83,99 €. | Fiche officielle Myprotein2026-10-12 |
| BulkClear Whey IsolateNon identifié dans le tableau | 1,87 €Indicatif : parfum à confirmer | 80 gÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | 29,99 €500 g | isolate / hydrolysée | Non communiqué | Sucralose, arôme, antimousses, acide citrique, rouge de betterave | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | variante à confirmer80 g/100 g du tableau générique. Prix 500 g confirmé, mais parfum non rattachable au tableau : calcul indicatif, exclu du podium. | Fiche officielle Bulk2026-10-12 |
| GreenwheyProtéine de Whey BioChocolat | 1,90 € | 73 gN × 6,25 | 49,95 €900 g | concentrée | Alpes, pays non précisé | Décoction de fruit du moine, cacao | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultéesAminogramme affiché | fin de référence / stock ambiguLe fournisseur arrête la production. Ne constitue pas une recommandation durable. | Fiche officielle Greenwhey2026-10-12 |
| Optimum NutritionGold Standard 100% IsolateChocolate | 1,98 € | 83 gÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | 60,99 €930 g | isolate / hydrolysée | Non communiqué | Sucralose, lécithine de soja, gomme xanthane, arômes, cacao, sel | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stock | Fiche officielle Optimum Nutrition2026-10-12 |
| Nutri&CoWhey Isolate NativeChocolat | 2,00 € | 83 gN × 6,25, tableau chocolat | 59,90 €900 g | native / isolate | France | Stévia, lécithine de tournesol, gomme xanthane, arômes, sel | < 0,02 % | Oui, document publiéProduit fini : nature (nutrition/lactose, 2024), chocolat (contaminants)Aminogramme affiché | en stockLa version nature affiche 92 g/100 g mais sa liste exacte n’a pas été restituée. Comparaison principale sur chocolat, composition vérifiable. | Fiche officielle Nutri&Co2026-10-12 |
| GreenwheyIsolat de Whey NativeChocolat | 2,03 € | 81,97 gN × 6,25, matière humide, valeur affichée 81,97 | 59,95 €900 g | native / isolate | Alpes, pays non précisé | Glycosides de stéviol, cacao | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stockLa fiche contient un léger écart entre 24,29 g/30 g et 81,97 g/100 g. Valeur 100 g conservée, écart signalé. Fiche technique fournisseur distincte d’une analyse du produit fini. | Fiche officielle Greenwhey2026-10-12 |
| NutrimuscleWhey Native IsolateNature | 2,07 € | 85,5 gTableau nature : 85,5 g/100 g | 70,95 €1 000 g | native / isolate | Non communiqué pour le lait | Aucun ajout dans la version nature | Faible teneur, seuil non communiqué | Oui, document publiéMatière première InLeit, lot fabriqué en mai 2024 | en stockPrix nature 1 kg vérifié dans les variantes officielles. Le fournisseur français ne démontre pas seul une origine française du lait. | Fiche officielle Nutrimuscle2026-10-12 |
| EiyolabClear Whey HTFruits rouges | 2,12 € | 82,4 g20,6 g matière humide / 25 g × 100 | 34,90 €500 g | isolate | Non communiqué | Sucralose, acésulfame K, arômes, colorants végétaux, antimottant, émulsifiants | < 0,03 % | Non trouvéessur les sources consultéesAminogramme affiché | en stock, formule incohérenteLa page évoque une glutamine ajoutée, absente de la liste : non classée tant que cette contradiction persiste. | Fiche officielle Eiyolab2026-10-12 |
| Optimum NutritionPlatinum HydrowheyMilk Chocolate | 2,15 € | 75 gÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | 102,99 €1 600 g | isolate / hydrolysée | Non communiqué | Sucralose, acésulfame K, lécithines, carraghénanes, arômes, BCAA ajoutés, sels | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stock5 % de BCAA libres dans la formule. Prix par protéines déclaré, pas prix de whey intacte seule. | Fiche officielle Optimum Nutrition2026-10-12 |
| Optimum NutritionGold Standard 100% WheyDouble Rich Chocolate | 2,20 € | 76 gÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | 59,99 €899 g | isolate / concentrée / hydrolysée | Non communiqué | Lécithine de soja, gomme xanthane, arômes, sucralose, acésulfame K, cacao | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stockFormat 899 g identifié dans les variantes officielles. 24 g par dose de 31 g sont arrondis, calcul sur 76 g/100 g. | Fiche officielle Optimum Nutrition2026-10-12 |
| MyproteinImpact Whey Isolate Batch TestedSans arôme | Non calculable | 89 g22,25 g telles quelles pour 25 g, soit 89 g/100 g | 58,23 €Format non vérifié | isolate | Non communiqué | Lécithine de soja | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | ruptureAncienne référence conservée. Prix affiché sans poids identifiable, coût non calculable. Contrôle annoncé, rapport de lot non accessible. | Fiche officielle Myprotein2026-10-12 |
| BulkPure Whey IsolateVanille | Non calculable | Non communiquéÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | 51,99 €900 g | isolate | Non communiqué | Non communiqué pour la variante vanille actuelle | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | en stockPrix et poids confirmés par offre officielle BPB-WPI9-VANI-0900. Tableau nutritionnel absent : ancienne valeur 84 % non reconduite. | Fiche officielle Bulk2026-10-12 |
| Scitec Nutrition100% Whey Protein ProfessionalVanille, tableau standard | Non calculable | 73 gÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | Non communiqué780 g | concentrée / isolate | Non communiqué | Sucralose, acésulfame K, lécithines, gomme xanthane, taurine, arginine, glutamine, leucine, enzymes | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultéesAminogramme affiché | prix France non vérifiéComposition officielle consultée via extrait indexé, restitution directe vide. Prix officiel en euros non vérifié. | Fiche officielle Scitec Nutrition2026-10-12 |
| Prozis100% Real Whey ProteinNon communiqué | Non calculable | Non communiquéÉtiquette du produit fini, sauf précision | Non communiqué1 000 g | concentrée | Non communiqué | Non communiqué | Non communiqué | Non trouvéessur les sources consultées | fiche inaccessibleFiche officielle repérée, accès direct bloqué (429). Aucune ancienne teneur ni aucun prix d’un revendeur repris. | Fiche officielle Prozis2026-10-12 |
« Non trouvées » ne signifie pas « produit non contrôlé ». Les certificats publiés peuvent concerner une matière première ou un ancien lot. Les données absentes restent absentes.
The table covers standard, native, isolate and hydrolysed whey, with French and international brands. Some products are unavailable or insufficiently documented: they remain visible to help with brand searches, but cannot take a podium spot. Foodspring is not included: no usable current official product page was obtained.
Our method: what determines the ranking
This is a document-based comparison, with no personal testing of taste, mixing or digestion. Each record links a product, flavour, weight and price. I favour a one-off purchase of around 750 to 1,000 g where that size exists. Automatic promotions are included; subscriptions and personal discount codes are excluded. Shipping still needs to be added at checkout.
The overall selection uses a public weighting system that can be calculated from the data:
- 35 points for protein cost: 35 × lowest cost among eligible products ÷ product cost
- 25 points for concentration: 25 × protein per 100 g ÷ 100
- 25 points for documentation: milk origin by country, 10 points, or region/continent only, 5 points. Amino acid profile, 5 points. Report on the finished product, 10 points, or on the raw material, 5 points
- 15 points for simplicity: no sweeteners, 10 points. No added free amino acids, 5 points
Unverified information earns no points. Being out of stock, a price without a weight, missing protein content or a contradictory formula prevents entry into the overall selection. The categories then address specific constraints: documented lactose, no sweeteners or lowest cost. This scoring system rewards clarity and cost; it does not rate absolute safety or clinical effectiveness. The preference for an unsweetened formula is editorial, not proof that all sweeteners are dangerous.
Nutripure scores 79/100, Nutri&Co chocolate 74/100 and Protéalpes vanilla 70/100 on this scale. Native whey receives no automatic bonus. Nutrition Pro gets no partnership-related advantage. Existing affiliate links remain in the relevant product profiles without influencing the calculation.
I have not verified the contents of every batch sold, taste quality, individual tolerance or the completeness of contaminant testing. “Published analyses” means a document is accessible, sometimes an old one. A printed amino acid profile and a certification do not magically become an independent analysis of the bag you order.
The most interesting whey options: nine profiles to help you choose
Nutripure unflavoured: the best overall compromise
The Nutripure Whey Isolate Native combines French origin, sunflower lecithin and no sweeteners. At €44.90 for 750 g, the cost comes to €1.72 per 25 g of protein. The value used is 86.8 g/100 g on an as-is basis, factor N × 6.25.
The advertised 94% refers to dry matter using a different factor. Combining that figure with the bag price creates an artificial advantage. Lactose is presented as below 0.2% in the headline claim, but the table shows 0.2 g/100 g. I use the latter value for the assessment. Choose it if you want an unflavoured, traceable native isolate, without expecting muscle gains specific to the brand. The detailed breakdown of Nutripure’s formula · FR explores this choice further.
Nutri&Co isolate: the choice for documented very low lactose
The Nutri&Co Whey Isolate Native chocolate lists 83 g/100 g, French milk and €59.90 for 900 g, or €2.00 per 25 g of protein. Its formula contains stevia, flavourings, a lecithin and xanthan gum. “No synthetic sweeteners” therefore does not mean sweetener-free.
The brand publishes documents on lactose, nutrition and contaminants. The unflavoured product report consulted dates from 2024: useful for transparency, insufficient to certify the current batch. Its main appeal here is the stated lactose threshold of less than 0.02%. The unflavoured version lists 92 g/100 g, but the retrieved product page did not allow its exact ingredient list to be verified: I have not combined its values with the chocolate recipe.
Protéalpes vanilla with no added sugars: flavoured without sweeteners
The official Protéalpes vanilla product page states milk from Rhône-Alpes, a recipe with vanilla and coconut flour, and 74 g of protein per 100 g of powder. The €39.95 for 750 g works out at €1.80 per 25 g of protein.
It is a useful alternative if you want flavour without sucralose or stevia. The formula is less concentrated than Nutripure and lactose is stated as below 5%: it does not meet the same digestive requirements. The stated NF EN 17444 standard concerns preventing doping risk; it does not measure progress in the gym. The cocoa version is separate: 72.3 g/100 g, not to be confused with the 85.5% isolate in the ingredient list.
Decathlon Whey unflavoured: good value without sweeteners
The Decathlon Whey unflavoured contains whey concentrate with sunflower lecithin. 75 g/100 g, €38.99 for 900 g, €1.44 per 25 g of protein: this is the budget choice without an imposed sweet taste.
Its appeal is concrete: a short ingredient list and a lower price than the selected native isolates. So are its limitations: milk origin, lactose and laboratory reports are not provided on the product page consulted. Choose it if you tolerate concentrates, rather than paying for extra filtration without an identified need. Older prices on the subscription portal do not replace the current price. Our review of Decathlon formulas · FR distinguishes the ranges.
Decathlon Pure Whey isolate unflavoured: the affordable unflavoured isolate
The Pure Whey isolate unflavoured lists 85 g/100 g and €48.99 for 900 g, or €1.60 per 25 g of protein. It contains soy and sunflower lecithins, with no sweeteners.
It costs less than the two native wheys on the podium. However, lactose is not quantified. Do not turn the word isolate into a lactose-free guarantee. Chocolate costs the same per bag, but its 82 g/100 g works out at €1.66 per 25 g of protein, with stevia. Flavour changes the calculation, even when the shelf price stays the same.
Nutrimuscle isolate unflavoured: one ingredient, but a higher cost
The Nutrimuscle Whey Native Isolate unflavoured contains only isolate according to the ingredient list consulted. The official 1 kg size costs €70.95. With 85.5 g/100 g, that amounts to €2.07 for 25 g of protein.
The brand publishes raw material certificates. The one reviewed is not an analysis of the current finished product. I do not attribute a French origin to the milk solely because a French supplier is involved. It suits you if you prefer a formula without an emulsifier, but its price does not give it the best value for quantity in this survey. The flavoured versions add several ingredients: do not assume the simplicity of the unflavoured version applies to the whole range.
Bulk Pure Whey Protein: the cheapest per serving among the usable data
The Bulk Pure Whey Protein official listing in vanilla lists 71 g/100 g. At €37.99 per kilogram, that works out to €1.34 for 25 g of protein. It is our budget pick if you accept sucralose, lecithin, flavourings and xanthan gum.
The price is promotional and excludes shipping. I found neither a quantified lactose threshold nor a laboratory report published on the listing. Its advantage is cost, not greater purity. The Basic range mixes in other protein sources, and versions containing collagen are not interchangeable with this whey. A reassuring word on the bag is no substitute for the ingredient list.
Eiyolab Isolate HT: a competitively priced flavoured isolate
The Eiyolab Isolate HT in vanilla costs €39.90 for 750 g. Its 25.2 g of protein on an as-is basis per 30 g equates to 84 g/100 g, or €1.58 for 25 g of protein.
It contains sucralose, sunflower lecithin and an enzyme complex that includes lactase. Its amino acid profile is displayed, but no batch report was found. The milk’s origin is not specified and lactose is not quantified. It is an economical flavoured option, with no promise that everyone will tolerate it. Clear Whey HT remains in the table, but the page mentions added glutamine that is absent from its ingredient list: this inconsistency keeps it out of the top three.
Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard: a blend, not a pure isolate
The Gold Standard 100% Whey in Double Rich Chocolate contains isolate, concentrate and hydrolysed isolate, with sucralose and acesulfame K. 76 g/100 g and €59.99 for 899 g work out to €2.20 for 25 g of protein. The 24 g per 31 g serving is a rounded figure, less suitable for a precise calculation.
Its choice of flavours is its practical selling point. Based on the data for the selected pack size, it wins on neither simplicity nor cost. “100% Whey” refers to the protein category, not to a powder made up of 100% protein. Its Gold Standard Isolate and Hydrowhey versions have different formulas, also included in the table.
The two other products from the original comparison are retained. Myprotein Impact Whey Isolate Batch Tested lists 22.25 g of protein as-is per 25 g and is out of stock: its €58.23 price cannot be standardised without a verified pack size. The Bulk Pure Whey Isolate in vanilla, 900 g, is listed at €51.99 in the official offer, but the current nutrition table was not obtained. The old “84%” does not become October data just by copying and pasting.
Nutrition Pro remains an entry comparable to the others: a listed price of €39.99 for 900 g, a nutrition table showing 76.2 g/100 g, and sucralose. The cost of €1.46 is indicative, because the table does not explicitly link the figure to the flavour. The product is listed as coming soon, and the milk’s origin is not specified. These limitations are enough to keep it out of the top three.
How to read a whey label without paying for marketing
Protein on a dry basis: compare what you actually pour
A powder still contains moisture. A dry-matter figure removes that water from the denominator, increasing the percentage. This can help characterise a raw material, but you buy the powder as-is.
Nutripure provides a verifiable example: 94 g/100 g on a dry-matter basis using N × 6.38, versus 86.8 g/100 g on an as-is basis using N × 6.25. EU Regulation 1169/2011, Annex I defines the regulatory calculation of protein as total nitrogen multiplied by 6.25. When both bases are available, I use the finished-product value with this factor. Otherwise, the published basis is specified in the table.
Amino spiking: an amino acid profile is not proof of innocence
The term refers to adding free amino acids or nitrogen-containing compounds that can complicate the interpretation of a figure derived from total nitrogen. This calculation alone does not distinguish a complete protein from other nitrogen sources. Read the ingredients: added glycine, taurine, arginine or BCAAs deserve an explanation.
The presence of a declared addition does not prove fraud. It simply means you are no longer comparing whey alone. Scitec Professional declares several additions, and Platinum Hydrowhey a BCAA blend. Checking a suspicion requires an appropriate analysis of the finished product and its batch, not accusing a brand because its list is long.
Serving size and cost: the scoop can work in the seller’s favour
Getting 25 g of protein does not require the same amount of powder at 71% as at 85%. The formula is: pack price × 2,500 ÷ (weight in grams × protein per 100 g).
With the Decathlon concentrate, the calculation gives 38.99 × 2,500 ÷ (900 × 75) = €1.44. You need about 33.3 g of powder for those 25 g of protein. Weigh your serving at first: a heaped scoop measures volume, not weight. And compare the exact flavour. Superlatives take up less space than cocoa, but they provide no protein.
Isolate, concentrate, native or hydrolysed: which should you choose?
Concentrate and isolate describe filtration. Native describes extraction directly from milk. A whey can therefore be native and a concentrate, or native and an isolate. Hydrolysed means the proteins have been partially broken down into peptides. These are not four steps on a staircase where the most expensive is necessarily the best.
Isolate filtration generally reduces some of the lactose and fat. The final figure still depends on the formula. In our table, a flavoured isolate can have a lower protein concentration than another unflavoured formula. To decide, use the isolate versus concentrate comparison based on cost and lactose · FR.
Whey provides essential amino acids, including leucine, which contribute to the muscle protein synthesis response alongside training. But an acute biological response is not proof of greater muscle gain over the long term. Hamarsland and colleagues found no superiority of native whey over WPC-80 in the five hours after exercise in young trained adults. The trial was small and did not compare the brands in this table. Its funding included the dairy industry.
So do not pay the “native” premium for supposedly greater hypertrophy. You might pay for a transparent supply chain, a formula you enjoy or a documented lactose threshold. On that last point, the guide to lactose-free whey labels · FR helps you avoid confusing sugars, lactose and allergy.
Best protein powders: your goal comes before the brand
For strength training, the ISSN position stand on protein and exercise generally suggests 1.4–2.0 g/kg/day, including food, for healthy adults who train. The amounts studied per intake are often 20–40 g of protein, depending on the context. This reference includes conflicts of interest involving the supplement industry and does not endorse any brand in our selection.
When bulking, a concentrate you tolerate can be the rational choice. When cutting, check total calories and the formula’s composition: isolate is not a fat burner. To start, buy an amount you can actually use before its expiry date, rather than a tub chosen for its discount percentage.
Whey is unsuitable for a vegan diet or a milk protein allergy. The whey versus plant protein comparison · FR helps you examine another protein source rather than another logo.
Vincent Biohack and whey rankings
Looking for Vincent Biohack’s whey ranking? His video is called And the Best Whey Is… (2025 Ranking). I am not summarising his ranking here: watch it on his channel; it is his work.
This comparison is independent. Its strength lies elsewhere: prices, pack sizes and labels recorded from official listings on 12 October 2026, and a cost standardised to 25 g of protein. A ranking from 2025 helps identify brands. It does not tell you whether the formula or price has changed since: that is exactly what the table above checks.
Use and precautions: fill a measured shortfall
Sports nutrition recommendations prioritise total intake and allow needs to be met through food. Powder makes planning easier. It does not create an additional need just because a scoop is included.
Before buying a large pack, run this simple check for a week:
- Record three typical days of eating and estimate the gap between your intake and your target
- Fill only that gap, weighing the powder and counting its actual protein content
- Choose a convenient time, using water so you do not confuse the formula with lactose from added milk
- Track digestion, reflux and bowel habits, then reassess the serving after seven days
Stop if you experience an unusual effect and seek advice if symptoms persist. Low-lactose whey is still a milk protein: it is unsuitable for a milk allergy. If you have kidney or liver disease, are pregnant or breastfeeding, are taking medication, or are underage, ask a doctor, pharmacist or dietitian for advice before supplementing.
Anses warns about supplements intended for athletes, particularly stacking supplements and adulterated products. This warning concerns a range of products; it is not evidence that all pure whey is dangerous. If you are an athlete subject to testing, check the relevant certification and the batch you actually buy. A marketing claim of “doping-free” is not enough.
The Verdict
Main sources
Product sources and the date recorded appear in each row of the table. The methodology and physiology references are:





